New Maths Challenges!

Well done to all the boys who took part in last week’s Maths Challenges.  Here are some more!

1. What is the square route of 81?

2. What name do we give all 4 sided shapes?

3. I am thinking of a number.  I double the number and add 8.  I have made 28.  What was my original number?

4. When we halve numbers we divide by 2.  When we want to find a quarter of a number we divide by 4.  What is half of 100?  What is a quarter of 100?

Here are some more!  What is half of 60?  What is a quarter of 60?  What is half of 16?  What is a quarter of 16?

Have you noticed that when we want to find a quarter of a number we can first halve it then halve it again?

5.  What is a prime number?  What is the highest prime number you can think of?

6. How many hours are there in one day?  Two days?  Three days?

7. I am thinking of a number.  I triple my number then add 12.  I have made 27.  What number was I originally thinking of?

8.  Name as many 4 sided shapes as you can.

From Mrs T

3 thoughts on “New Maths Challenges!

  1. 1. What is the square route of 81? 9

    2. What name do we give all 4 sided shapes? quadrilateral

    3. I am thinking of a number. I double the number and add 8. I have made 28. What was my original number? 10

    4. When we halve numbers we divide by 2. When we want to find a quarter of a number we divide by 4. What is half of 100? 50
    What is a quarter of 100? 25

    Here are some more! What is half of 60? 30
    What is a quarter of 60? 15
    What is half of 16? 8
    What is a quarter of 16? 4

    Have you noticed that when we want to find a quarter of a number we can first halve it then halve it again? yes

    5. What is a prime number? a number you can only divide by 1 and itself.
    What is the highest prime number you can think of? 79

    6. How many hours are there in one day? 24 Two days? 48
    Three days? 72

    7. I am thinking of a number. I triple my number then add 12. I have made 27. What number was I originally thinking of? 5

    8. Name as many 4 sided shapes as you can.
    square, rectangle, kite, rhombus, trapezium, arrowhead, parallelogram.

  2. 1. Square root of 81 is 9.
    2. Quadrilateral.
    3. 10
    4. 50, 25, 30, 15, 8,4
    5. 83.
    6. 24, 48, 72
    7. 5.
    8. Square, rectangle, rhombus, parallelogram, trapezium, kite, quadrilateral, isosceles trapezium, right trapezium, right kite.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *